The Stars Come out for ‘Clive Davis Pre-Grammy Gala’

Clive Davis Annual Grammy Gala last night didn’t disappoint.

Mary J. Blige performs “Thick of It” and “No More Drama”

The stars turned up and out last night at Clive Davis annual Pre-Grammy Gala in Beverly Hills.

The event included performances as well as a tribute to BET Networks President Debra Lee. “At BET we are saying ‘yes to us’ and it’s something we all should be saying loudly. We must persist and say ‘yes to us’ at a time when we are faced with so many no’s from growing economic, religious, racial, gender and sexual orientation barriers, bans and walls,” said Lee, who is the first woman to receive the Grammy Salute To Industry Icons Award.

One of the nights highlight’s came from Mary J. Blige, before she started her performance in honor of Debra Lee. Mary told the audience, “she was not in a good place.” “I look happy, somewhat, but I’m going through some horrible stuff right now, it’s called a divorce.” said Blige. Mary went on to perform amazing renditions of “Thick of It” and “No More Drama.” “We are behind you and we love you to death,” Recording Academy CEO Neil Portnow said following the performance.

Fresh off of their Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, a record-breaking ratings success bio-pic and a hot new album release, Bell Biv DeVoe kicked of the night with a performance of their classic “Poison.” Maxwell paid tribute to Prince by singing “Nothing Compares 2 U,” at one point even changing the lyrics to also honor Whitney Houston. “It’s been five years since this day, since you took your music away,” he sang softly.

The Grammy’s air tonight at 8 pm Eastern/5 pm Pacific (with red carpet preshow coverage starting at 7:30 pm Eastern/4:30 pm Pacific)

Check out pics from last night of Mary J. Blige, Kandi, Tamar Braxton, Bell Biv DeVoe, John Legend, Maxwell & More!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply