Janet’s #1’s ICON Feat. ‘Nothing’ in Stores August 31st

Janet Jackson, who with 34 Number One records, is one of the most successful and influential female artists in pop music history, will have a new “solid gold” collection of greatest hits for release on August 31, her first ever compilation of Number One songs. Janet Jackson – Number Ones – Icon (A&M/UMe), brings together 11 of the superstar’s #1 hits — 10 of them gold or platinum — and the newly released “Nothing” from the film Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married Too?, which stars Janet. One of the biggest-selling recording artists in the world, the ASCAP and Grammy winner’s previous compilation albums and CDs have been giant hits, her 1995 double platinum Design Of A Decade 1986/1996 and last year’s #1’s.

“Nothing,” which she composed, was recently cited by the trade paper Variety as one of two motion pictures songs of 2010 to date considered to be strongly in the running for Oscar nomination. Jackson previously was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Song “Again” (from the film “Poetic Justice”) and also for the Golden Globe.

Janet Jackson – Number Ones – Icon spans more than 20 years, from 1986’s gold “What Have You Done For Me Lately” spun off from her blockbuster breakthrough Control to 2009’s “Make Me,” a song which Jackson debuted that year in tribute to her brother Michael at the MTV Video Music Awards and which quickly shot to #1 on the Dance chart.

Also heard from Control are the gold hits “Nasty” (#1 R&B/#3 Pop) and “When I Think Of You” (#1 Pop/#1 Dance). 1989’s Rhythm Nation 1814 yielded the platinum Pop #1s “Miss You Much” and “Escapade,” and gold Dance #1 “Alright.” From 1993’s janet., Janet Jackson – Number Ones – Icon culls the platinum Pop #1 “That’s The Way Love Goes.” In 1997, The Velvet Rope included the platinum #1 Pop “Together Again.” The title track of 2000’s All For You and the album’s “Doesn’t Really Matter” were two more platinum #1 Pop smash hits.

Continuing her acting career, Jackson reprised her starring role in 2007’s Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married? for the 2010 sequel. She also recorded “Nothing” for the soundtrack. On this year’s season finale of “American Idol,” she performed a medley including “Nothing” — and the clip rocketed to #1 on the iTunes music video chart.

Official Tracklisting
1. What Have You Done For Me Lately
2. Nasty
3. When I Think Of You
4. Miss You Much
5. Escapade
6. Alright
7. That’s The Way Love Goes
8. Together Again
9. Doesn’t Really Matter
10. All For You
11. Make Me
12. Nothing from the film Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married Too?


Leave a Reply