Go! ‘Common’ Classics Streets May 25

There is nothing ordinary about acclaimed rapper Common, as the first retrospective of the most successful span of his career to date proves. Compiled with Common’s participation, Go! Common Classics (Geffen/UMe), to be released May 25, 2010, gathers 11 of his most popular tracks from the past decade on MCA/Geffen plus the rare 1996 battle record “The B**** In Yoo” and a new song, “Next Time (Just Right Version)” featuring Queen Latifah, from the film Just Wright, starring Common and Latifah, and scheduled to hit screens May 14.

Since his acting debut in Smokin Aces, Common has worked with some of the most coveted actors and directors in Hollywood. Common was last seen in the blockbuster hit Date Night opposite Steve Carell and Tina Fey. Additional credits include, American Gangster with Denzel Washington and director Ridley Scott, Wanted opposite Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy and Terminator Salvation with Christian Bale and Sam Worthington.

Common’s major label debut, his fourth studio album, 2000’s Like Water For Chocolate, marked the commercial breakthrough for one of rap’s most influential, literate and creative forces. His first gold album and a #5 R&B hit, the disc included “The Light,” Grammy nominated for Best Rap Solo Performance. 2002’s genre-bending Electric Circus went Top 10 R&B and brought under the hip-hop big top “Come Close” featuring Mary J. Blige. That same year, he was featured on Erykah Badu’s “Love Of My Life (An Ode To Hip Hop)” from the soundtrack to Brown Sugar. With three Grammy nominations, the track earned Common his first win, for Best R&B Song.

His next album, 2005’s Be, was almost entirely produced by Kanye West. The second gold album of his career, and first R&B #1 (also #2 Pop), Be spun off four Grammy nominations, including “The Corner” featuring The Last Poets and “Testify.” In addition, Go! Common Classics embraces the hit “Go!” In 2007, Finding Forever debuted #1 R&B and Pop, went gold, and was Grammy nominated for Best Rap Album. The single “The People” was Grammy nominated for Best Rap Solo Performance and “Southside” featuring Kanye West was nominated for Best Rap Performance by a Duo or Group. Go! Common Classics also reprises its hit “I Want You” and “Drivin’ Me Wild” featuring U.K. pop starlet Lily Allen. Culled from Common’s most recent album, 2008’s Universal Mind Control, which soared into the R&B Top 5, the collection boasts the hit title track.

Even as Common continues to act in major motion pictures a new album is expected this year.

1. The Light
2. Universal Mind Control (UMC)
3. Next Time (Just Wright Version) NEW SONG!! Featuring QUEEN LATIFAH
4. Go!
5. Come Close Featuring MARY J. BLIGE
6. I Want You
7. The Corner Featuring THE LAST POETS
8. Love Of My Life (An Ode To Hip Hop) ERYKAH BADU Featuring COMMON
9. Testify
10. The People
11. Drivin’ Me Wild Featuring LILY ALLEN
12. Southside Featuring KANYE WEST
13. The B**** In Yoo

1 Comment

Leave a Reply