Cypress Hill is Back! New Album, Video & Tour

As Cypress Hill gear’s up for the April 20th release of their highly anticipated new album Rise Up, the multi-platinum hip-hop group has released a video for the album’s explosive lead single/title track, “Rise Up,” featuring Rage Against The Machine/Street Sweeper Social Club/The Nightwatchman guitarist Tom Morello (who pulled double duty as the song’s producer and co-writer). The video, which was directed by Syndrome (T-Pain, Alicia Keys, Eminem), is premiering on AOL Music’s Boombox yesterday and can be viewed below.

Cypress Hill (emcees B-Real and Sen Dog, DJ Julio G and percussionist Eric Bobo) will preview songs from the album with a string of special shows in Philadelphia (April 10th), Toronto (April 12th) and New York (April 15th) before returning to the west coast, where they’ll team up with Morello for an April 19th outdoor stage performance on “Jimmy Kimmel Live.” John Dolmayan, drummer of System Of A Down, will sit in for this special event. On April 20th, Cypress Hill will celebrate the album’s release with a show at The Warfield in San Francisco. The band also taped a performance on the roof of the legendary Capitol Records building in Hollywood, which will air April 14 as part of a Yahoo! Maximum Performance special.

Rise Up is an album whose thrilling mix of deep grooves and hard riffs are amplified by guest appearances from Rage Against The Machine/Street Sweeper Social Club guitarist Tom Morello, Linkin Park vocalist Mike Shinoda, System Of A Down guitarist/vocalist Daron Malakian, singer-songwriter Marc Anthony, rapper Pitbull, Everlast, Young De, Evidence, The Alchemist and comic legends Cheech & Chong.

Rise Up is Cypress Hill’s first new album in six years and the first release being issued through Priority/EMI. Priority Records Creative Chairman Snoop Dogg signed the band to the label. The follow-up to 2004’s Till Death Do Us Part, Rise Up was recorded over the course of the past three years at B-Real’s studio, The Temple, in Los Angeles.

Fans can catch the band performing on these select dates with a full tour to be announced:

April 10 Philadelphia, PA North Star Bar (AVAILABLE NOW)
April 12 Toronto, ON The Mod Club (SOLD OUT)
April 15 New York, NY SOB’s (AVAILABLE NOW)
April 19 Los Angeles, CA “Jimmy Kimmel Live” (SOLD OUT)
April 20 San Francisco, CA The Warfield – Album Release Show
April 22 Scottsdale, AZ Martini Rand (On Sale 3/29)

First Look: Rise Up Official Tracklisting:
1. It Ain’t Nothin’ (feat. Young De)
2. Light It Up
3. Rise Up (Ft Tom Morello)
4. Get It Anyway
5. Pass The Dutch (feat. Evidence and Alchemist)
6. Bang Bang
7. K.U.S.H
8. Get ‘Em Up
9. Carry Me Away (feat. Mike Shinoda)
10. Trouble Seeker (feat. Daron Malakian)
11. Day Destroys the Night featuring Everlast
12. I Unlimited
13. Armed & Dangerous
14. Shut ‘Em Down (feat. Tom Morello)
15. Armada Latina (feat. Marc Anthony and Pitbull)

1 Comment

Leave a Reply